The Flower Kings announce studio double-album ‘Waiting For Miracles’ and Tourdates

Flower Kings Photo by Johnnny Taxen

„DEUTSCH bitte runterscrollen!) Progressive rock legends THE FLOWER KINGS are pleased to announce the release of their brand new studio double-album ‘Waiting For Miracles’ on the 8th November 2019. The album is comprised of 15 new tracks, recorded over the summer at RMV studio in Stockholm, Sweden – a vintage studio space owned by ABBA star Benny Andersson. 

Band leader Roine Stolt comments: “We have gone back to the joyful and playful style that made the band famous in the late 90’s. So here ‘more’ is always ‘more’! At time the lyrics have a bit of a serious concern about the state of our world, but overall the theme is full of joy and colour.”

The band, currently comprised of Roine Stolt, Jonas Reingold, Hasse Fröberg, Zach Kamins & Mirko DeMaio (the most recent live line-up), have crafted an adventurous collection of pure prog-rock. Expect boat-loads of vintage keyboards, odd time signatures and long guitar solos – with elements of pop, symphonic and cinematic music. 

The album will be released as a 2CD, Gatefold 2LP + 2CD & as digital album, featuring beautiful artwork by American artist Kevin Sloan. Find the full track-listing below:

Disc 1:

  1. House Of Cards
  2. Black Flag
  3. Miracles For America
  4. Vertigo
  5. The Bridge
  6. Ascending To The Stars
  7. Wicked Old Symphony
  8. The Rebel Circus
  9. Sleep With The Enemy
  10. The Crowning Of Greed

Disc 2:

  1. House Of Cards Reprise
  2. Spirals
  3. Steampunk
  4. We Were Always Here
  5. Busking At Brobank

The Flower Kings also recently announced they would be heading out on tour this December with label-mates KAYAK. Roine Stolt: „We’re happy to go on tour in Europe again in December – We will present The Flower Kings music from the early days – concert favourites – plus some brand new music – that is along the lines of the early music of the band – symphonic rock.   We’re happy to bring our friends in KAYAK along for this proggy double bill – it will be a monumental meltdown of melodic prog – not to be missed.“   

The two bands will perform 12 dates across 6 countries, and you find the full list of shows below, tickets on sale now:

1st December – Bahnhof St. Pauli, Hamburg, Germany
2nd December – Musikzentrum, Hannover, Germany
3rd December – OK Andaluzia, Piekary Slaskie, Poland
4th December – Klub U Bazyla, Poznan, Poland
6th December – Burgerweeshuis, Deventer, Netherlands
7th December – De Boerderij, Zoetermeer, Netherlands
8th December – Scala, London, UK
9th December – Piano, Dortmund, Germany
10th December – Columbia Theater, Berlin, Germany
11th December – Amager Bio, Copenhagen, Denmark
12th December – Brewhouse, Gothenburg, Sweden
14th December – Kraken, Stockholm, Sweden

The Flower Kings started as an outlet for guitarist/singer/composer Roine Stolt in 1994 – a time when prog-rock wasn’t mere history, nor a dirty word. The band quickly gained momentum and was one of a handful of bands helping to revive the progressive rock scene worldwide. Roine has since collaborated with a host of legendary musicians across various projects, including his acclaimed 2015 album with Yes-legend Jon Anderson, progressive-rock supergroup Transatlantic alongside Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy & Pete Trewavas, and a year as bass player with Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett. The Flower Kings however, has always felt like home for Roine and the other band veterans Jonas Reingold & Hasse Fröberg.


Die Progressive Rock-Legenden THE FLOWER KINGS kündigen ein neues Studio-Doppelalbum mit dem Titel ‚Waiting For Miracles‘ für den 8. November 2019 an. Das Album besteht aus 15 neuen Tracks, die im Sommer im RMV-Studio in Stockholm aufgenommen wurden – das Vintage-Studiovon ABBA-Star Benny Andersson.

Bandleader Roine Stolt kommentiert: „Wir sind zu dem fröhlichen und spielerischen Stil zurückgekehrt, der die Band in den späten 90ern berühmt gemacht hat. Hier ist also „mehr“ auch immer „mehr“! Teilweise äußern wir uns in den Texten aber auch besorgt über den Zustand unserer Welt, aber insgesamt ist das Thema voller Freude und Farbe.“

Die Band, die derzeit aus Roine Stolt, Jonas Reingold, Hasse Fröberg, Zach Kamins und Mirko DeMaio (der neuesten Live-Besetzung) besteht, hat eine abenteuerliche Sammlung von purem Prog-Rock zusammengestellt. Erwarten Sie eine Unmenge an Vintage-Keyboards, ungeraden Taktarten und langen Gitarrensoli – mit Elementen aus Pop, symphonischer und filmischer Musik.