LOVE AND DEATH new album „Perfectly Preserved“ out 12th February 2021

Love and Death by Sam Link

After a 8 year hiatus, anthemic hard rock project, Love and Death have already heralded their return last December via the announcement of a brand new album and the release of the blisteringly heavy and emotionally relatable first single,  Down.
 „White Flag“ feat. Ryan Hayes has been unveiled as second song and audio track today. 

Re-ignited by the combined forces of leader, frontman and guitarist Brian ‘Head’ Welch of Korn and bassist/producer Jasen Rauch of Breaking Benjamin, Love and Death will release their new album Perfectly Preserved on 12th February 2021 through Earache Records in the UK and across Europe.

Pre-orders are available with the collection on sale in digital and a number of physical options, including a Deluxe Clear Vinyl Box Set (exclusive to the Earache webstore) and a UK pickle green vinyl exclusively available at UK indie stores.

Speaking about the band’s first new full-length album since their 2013 debut, Brian ‘Head’ Welch shares;
“Everybody knows my foundation, I feel like what our world needs most in this very unique moment in time are real stories about overcoming struggle. These are honest songs co-written by our group of friends targeting depression/mental health, challenging relationships, trauma, loneliness, and related issues. ”

Love and Death began with a similar raw, authentic emotional honesty that drove singer/guitarist Brian ‚Head‘ Welch to multi-platinum, Grammy Award-winning heights as co-founder of Korn. Forged as an outlet for recovery and redemption in a season of change, the formation of Love and Death resulted in their dynamic 2013 debut, Between Here & Lost. The album spoke plainly to the hearts of similarly disenfranchised fans all across the world.

Love and Death now return with Perfectly Preserved, a crushing full-length follow-up, driven by the spiritual resilience inherent in their debut, combined with an even starker depiction of real-life struggle. Anger, broken relationships, lowered self-worth, and the collision of optimistic values with oppressive systems are all on display, from the arresting refrains of ‚Tragedy,‘ ‚Death of Us,‘ and ‚Affliction,‘ to the bold anthem of ‚White Flag.‘ Simply put, it is heavy music to vigorously confront depression, heartbreak, and pain.

Perfectly Preserved marks the introduction of guitarist, bassist and co-songwriter Jasen Rauch as a full-fledged member of the band, as well as second time producer for Love and Death (with co-production from Joe Rickard). Jasen, best known as an integral part of Breaking Benjamin, produced Love and Death’s first album in 2013. Completing this definitive line-up as they charge into this new chapter are the band’s original guitarist, JR Bareis, who now shares vocals with Welch, and powerhouse drummer, Isaiah Perez.

Much like A Perfect Circle or Stone Sour, Love and Death isn’t a “side project” or replacement for the guys’ respective bands. It’s an extension and companion, offering each of them a unique outlet to explore different aspects of their creative passions.

“There are certain things we can do melodically in Love and Death that might not work in Korn,” Rauch explains. “For me, there are certain creative risks I can take with the arrangements and production that wouldn’t fit with Breaking Benjamin. In this band, we don’t worry about how long a song might be, for example.”

It’s also an opportunity for further collaboration with their friends from other bands. ‚The Hunter‘ features Jasen’s Breaking Benjamin bandmate (and solo artist) Keith Wallen, who was also a major co-writer on the project, and longtime comrade and former Flyleaf singer, Lacey Sturm lends her vocals to a metallic rendition of a surprising pop cover.


  1. Infamy
  2. Tragedy
  3. Down
  4. Let Me Love You (feat Lacey Sturm)
  5. Death Of Us
  6. Slow Fire
  7. The Hunter (feat. Keith Wallen)
  8. Lo Lamento
  9. Affliction
  10. White Flag (feat Ryan Hayes)

As their fans have learned to expect, Love and Death are fearless in their open examination of contradictions and failure, making confessional music with an underlying anchor of purpose and hope. Like the band’s very moniker suggests, both ‘Love’ and ‘Death’ are very present in all that they do. 

Love and Death are
Brian ‚Head‘ Welch – Vocals, Guitar
Jasen Rauch – Bass
JR Bareis – Guitar, Vocals
Isaiah Perez – Drums